More Awesome Than You!
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
2020 November 29, 08:22:19

Login with username, password and session length
Search:     Advanced search
540031 Posts in 18039 Topics by 7936 Members
Latest Member: nightmystress
* Home Help Search Login Register
+  More Awesome Than You!
|-+  TS3/TSM: The Pudding
| |-+  The World Of Pudding
| | |-+  Robot can't order omni seed?
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic. « previous next »
Pages: [1] THANKS THIS IS GREAT Print
Author Topic: Robot can't order omni seed?  (Read 5520 times)
virgali
Malodorous Moron
***
Posts: 783


Do you see a midget Hitler?!


View Profile
Robot can't order omni seed?
« on: 2011 October 09, 12:52:51 »
THANKS THIS IS GREAT

I got a robot that's maxed out several skills including gardening. The robot also completed all the gardening opportunities. Whenever I send it to order omni seeds, it walks all the way to the mailbox but then the action drops from queue. Can't robots order seeds? Is there a fix or a work-around for this?
Logged

Do you need someone to organize your sock drawer?
J. M. Pescado
Fat Obstreperous Jerk
El Presidente
*****
Posts: 26227



View Profile
Re: Robot can't order omni seed?
« Reply #1 on: 2011 October 09, 13:07:22 »
THANKS THIS IS GREAT

Can't think of any reason why this would happen, so your mailbox is probably damaged. Try having someone else do it, or try having the robot do something else with the mailbox?
Logged

Grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change, the courage to change the things I cannot accept, and the wisdom to hide the bodies of those I had to kill because they pissed me off.
Gwill
Terrible Twerp
****
Posts: 2162



View Profile
Re: Robot can't order omni seed?
« Reply #2 on: 2011 October 09, 15:57:54 »
THANKS THIS IS GREAT

None of my sims have been able to order onmi seeds for several updates.
Logged

Dibs on Darth Telligent!
INTJ bordering on P
Want to know where babies come from?
Naiad
Blathering Buffoon
*
Posts: 77


View Profile
Re: Robot can't order omni seed?
« Reply #3 on: 2011 October 09, 16:44:47 »
THANKS THIS IS GREAT

Mine can't either, I just checked. In addition to that, I can't feed anything to an omniplant either. I click on the plant, click on 'feed', hear the click sound and then nothing happens. I figure a list-type menu should appear, like the one for giving gifts or playing chess, but no.
I haven't used an omniplant before, but I suppose the feed command should enable one to, you know, feed the plant. My sim does have some fish in its inventory, so it's not that. Does anyone else have this problem too, in addition to the mailbox one?
Logged
J. M. Pescado
Fat Obstreperous Jerk
El Presidente
*****
Posts: 26227



View Profile
Re: Robot can't order omni seed?
« Reply #4 on: 2011 October 09, 16:50:09 »
THANKS THIS IS GREAT

I can't say I've encountered this problem before, it seems to be working in my game.
Logged

Grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change, the courage to change the things I cannot accept, and the wisdom to hide the bodies of those I had to kill because they pissed me off.
Gwill
Terrible Twerp
****
Posts: 2162



View Profile
Re: Robot can't order omni seed?
« Reply #5 on: 2011 October 09, 16:58:49 »
THANKS THIS IS GREAT

Mine can feed the plants just fine.  When sent to order more seeds they walk up to the mailbox and just drop the action.

Another (probably completely unrelated) mailbox weirdness I've noticed is that sims can only write thank you letters (for wedding gifts) if they are already seated by a suitable writing surface when the order is given.

My game has been so full of weirdness that I've stopped complaining...
Logged

Dibs on Darth Telligent!
INTJ bordering on P
Want to know where babies come from?
J. M. Pescado
Fat Obstreperous Jerk
El Presidente
*****
Posts: 26227



View Profile
Re: Robot can't order omni seed?
« Reply #6 on: 2011 October 09, 17:32:04 »
THANKS THIS IS GREAT

What exactly normally happens when you order things?
Logged

Grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change, the courage to change the things I cannot accept, and the wisdom to hide the bodies of those I had to kill because they pissed me off.
virgali
Malodorous Moron
***
Posts: 783


Do you see a midget Hitler?!


View Profile
Re: Robot can't order omni seed?
« Reply #7 on: 2011 October 09, 18:50:04 »
THANKS THIS IS GREAT

The robot interacts just fine with the mailbox. So do all the other members of the household. They can all pay bills, receive mail (certificates) and those who got the trait can donate money no problem. I have no-one else in the household who's able to order the seeds so I can't test this.
Logged

Do you need someone to organize your sock drawer?
Ilikecoffee
Asinine Airhead

Posts: 41



View Profile
Re: Robot can't order omni seed?
« Reply #8 on: 2011 October 09, 19:30:18 »
THANKS THIS IS GREAT

It has been broken for a while.  There's a work-around posted on the exchange.  You have to access the mailbox to order seeds, pause the game when near the mailbox, cancel the order, then resume the game and the order will be placed.  
Logged
Madame Mim
Retarded Reprobate
****
Posts: 1437


Tards, Damned Tards and You Were Adopted.


View Profile
Re: Robot can't order omni seed?
« Reply #9 on: 2011 October 09, 21:22:33 »
THANKS THIS IS GREAT

When this happened to me I just moved the mailbox, discovered that it was listed in use by somebody and ended up killing that sim because resetting them didn't work. All good then.
Logged

Mia kusenveturilo estas angiloplena.
Gwill
Terrible Twerp
****
Posts: 2162



View Profile
Re: Robot can't order omni seed?
« Reply #10 on: 2011 October 10, 15:45:34 »
THANKS THIS IS GREAT

Just a thought... This isn't related to those custom mailboxes from Barnacle Bay somehow, is it?
Logged

Dibs on Darth Telligent!
INTJ bordering on P
Want to know where babies come from?
Naiad
Blathering Buffoon
*
Posts: 77


View Profile
Re: Robot can't order omni seed?
« Reply #11 on: 2011 October 10, 16:47:19 »
THANKS THIS IS GREAT

Not in my case - I haven't downloaded Barnacle Bay.
Logged
jezzer
Grammar Police
*
Posts: 4931


"Start a new thread" is the new "Search."


View Profile
Re: Robot can't order omni seed?
« Reply #12 on: 2011 October 10, 18:27:24 »
THANKS THIS IS GREAT

Not in my case - I haven't downloaded Barnacle Bay.

Do you have moryrie's store files?  I think they might include the BB items.
Logged

<soozelwoozel>  Remember the days when jezzer used to have adorable pictures of ratties holding teddy bears as his avatar? Now it\\\'s all eyeless cave vagina spiders and despair.
virgali
Malodorous Moron
***
Posts: 783


Do you see a midget Hitler?!


View Profile
Re: Robot can't order omni seed?
« Reply #13 on: 2011 October 11, 07:39:53 »
THANKS THIS IS GREAT

I do have BB installed but I'm not playing in BB or using any of its items. I'm playing in riverview though so that may have somehting to do with it? I'll try the workarounds suggested above and see what happens.

It has been broken for a while.  There's a work-around posted on the exchange.  You have to access the mailbox to order seeds, pause the game when near the mailbox, cancel the order, then resume the game and the order will be placed.  

This worked for me.
« Last Edit: 2011 October 11, 13:22:46 by virgali » Logged

Do you need someone to organize your sock drawer?
Naiad
Blathering Buffoon
*
Posts: 77


View Profile
Re: Robot can't order omni seed?
« Reply #14 on: 2011 October 11, 15:40:23 »
THANKS THIS IS GREAT

Not in my case - I haven't downloaded Barnacle Bay.

Do you have moryrie's store files?  I think they might include the BB items.

I don't have any of moryrie's files. I suppose you mean the store made shiftable ones.

I'm running awesome 2011-Oct-02 21:36:39, if that helps.
Logged
Lord Darcy
Obtuse Oaf
***
Posts: 958


The owls are not what they seem.


View Profile WWW
Re: Robot can't order omni seed?
« Reply #15 on: 2011 October 12, 14:23:29 »
THANKS THIS IS GREAT

I don't have Barnacle Bay either, and the omni plant seed order has stopped working some EPs ago. I think LN broke it, but I'm not too sure. Also the Sim in question was not a SimBot.
In fact, it seems that EA failed to update omni plant properly in LN, for not only the seed order was broken, but LN fish can't be replicated with omni plant either. Like career books, you can feed LN fish into omni plant, but they can never be harvested, regardless of their growth state. You have no choice but to dispose of the plant (thus losing your fish and career books.)  I learned it hard way when I tried to replicate Sea Sludges to use as fertilizers.
Logged

J. M. Pescado
Fat Obstreperous Jerk
El Presidente
*****
Posts: 26227



View Profile
Re: Robot can't order omni seed?
« Reply #16 on: 2011 October 12, 21:44:41 »
THANKS THIS IS GREAT

That's quite odd, considering that as far as I know, codewise, Fish are Generic and their internal object representation doesn't vary from expansion to expansion. All fish are the same object class, with only an indicator pointng to what kind of fish it is.
Logged

Grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change, the courage to change the things I cannot accept, and the wisdom to hide the bodies of those I had to kill because they pissed me off.
virgali
Malodorous Moron
***
Posts: 783


Do you see a midget Hitler?!


View Profile
Re: Robot can't order omni seed?
« Reply #17 on: 2011 October 13, 15:04:13 »
THANKS THIS IS GREAT

Can't say about the books or slugs for that matter but I successfully planted and harvested angel fish. The only problem I got is the ordering of seeds (so far) and as I already mentioned the pause work around works for me.

ETA: I noticed that often the bills are put on the floor instead of the mailbox so maybe the mailbox is borked somehow?
« Last Edit: 2011 October 20, 19:42:02 by virgali » Logged

Do you need someone to organize your sock drawer?
Pages: [1] Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.063 seconds with 20 queries.