More Awesome Than You!
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
2020 July 09, 21:27:56

Login with username, password and session length
Search:     Advanced search
540000 Posts in 18033 Topics by 7900 Members
Latest Member: Galedlothia
* Home Help Search Login Register
+  More Awesome Than You!
|-+  Awesomeware
| |-+  Armoire of Invincibility
| | |-+  AwesomeMod!
| | | |-+  AwesomeMod "Breaks" Sims 3 upon installation- competent edition!
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic. « previous next »
Pages: [1] THANKS THIS IS GREAT Print
Author Topic: AwesomeMod "Breaks" Sims 3 upon installation- competent edition!  (Read 6966 times)
Claeric
Shouty Vole
Pinheaded Pissant
***
Posts: 1072



View Profile WWW
AwesomeMod "Breaks" Sims 3 upon installation- competent edition!
« on: 2010 January 02, 23:49:09 »
THANKS THIS IS GREAT

Yeah.

I just installed WA, and it would appear AM is "breaking" the game on installation. Rather than get lost in the grammar topic the other guy made, I figured I'd just start my own.

DETAILS!

Windows 7 x64 Pro
Graphics card and all that jazz, I doubt that would matter. Radeon 4870, triple core whatever, 4GB Ram.

Game Versions: 1.7.9/2.2.8. The reason I am not using 1.8 is beause when I first installed WA, I had to completely re-install and it was implied that my issue may have been the later patch. So I left it at 1.7.9.

Other mods: Yep, but this happens whether they are there or not.
Framework properly installed: Check, all my other CC works flawlessly.
Old save file being used: Nope, completely clean install.

Now, here's what happens: Game loads. Load bar gets as far to the right as it possibly can, and nothing happens. Music keeps playing, spinny keeps spinning, that's it. Remove awesomemod and it works again. I have tried both the 1.7.9 version of AM(as it is what I was using before with 1.8 <_<Wink and the newest one. Both do this.

Attempted combinations and results:

All CC and AwesomeMod: Failure
All CC and AwesomeMod with Aweconf: Failure
All CC w/o AwesomeMod: Success!
No CC and AwesomeMod: Failure
No CC and AweseomeMod with Aweconf: Failure
No CC and Nothing: Success!

Files are in ElectronicArts/TheSims3WorldAdventures/Mods/Packages.

Any ideas? If I find nothing, I'll attempt an update to 1.8, but for now I would rather not.
Logged
kutto
Senator
*
Posts: 2486


Hamsome


View Profile
Re: AwesomeMod "Breaks" Sims 3 upon installation- competent edition!
« Reply #1 on: 2010 January 02, 23:54:00 »
THANKS THIS IS GREAT

The current version of Awesomemod is clearly labeled as compatible with 1.8/2.3 only.
Logged
Claeric
Shouty Vole
Pinheaded Pissant
***
Posts: 1072



View Profile WWW
Re: AwesomeMod "Breaks" Sims 3 upon installation- competent edition!
« Reply #2 on: 2010 January 02, 23:56:36 »
THANKS THIS IS GREAT

Yes, I know. And my post is clearly labeled as having used the old edition, too. Smiley
Logged
adds
Asinine Airhead

Posts: 17



View Profile
Re: AwesomeMod "Breaks" Sims 3 upon installation- competent edition!
« Reply #3 on: 2010 January 03, 01:57:57 »
THANKS THIS IS GREAT

I think I have read somewhere that while installing dont keep the MODs folder in the game directory. Keep it at some other location . after the installation put the MODS folder back & play.
Logged
Silent Dreamer
Feckless Fool
*
Posts: 269



View Profile
Re: AwesomeMod "Breaks" Sims 3 upon installation- competent edition!
« Reply #4 on: 2010 January 03, 02:05:28 »
THANKS THIS IS GREAT

Old versions are unsupported, so we are not very inclined to help you until you get with the times. And even then we're not really inclined to help you since this problem has been beaten to death and tossed into a BFBVBS.
Logged

The stupid threshold has reached critical mass! Brain explosions imminent!
Claeric
Shouty Vole
Pinheaded Pissant
***
Posts: 1072



View Profile WWW
Re: AwesomeMod "Breaks" Sims 3 upon installation- competent edition!
« Reply #5 on: 2010 January 03, 03:07:07 »
THANKS THIS IS GREAT

I had no mods when installing. None at all.
Logged
J. M. Pescado
Fat Obstreperous Jerk
El Presidente
*****
Posts: 26223



View Profile
Re: AwesomeMod "Breaks" Sims 3 upon installation- competent edition!
« Reply #6 on: 2010 January 03, 03:46:13 »
THANKS THIS IS GREAT

The old edition cannot be supported under any circumstances. In fact, it no longer exists.
Logged

Grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change, the courage to change the things I cannot accept, and the wisdom to hide the bodies of those I had to kill because they pissed me off.
Claeric
Shouty Vole
Pinheaded Pissant
***
Posts: 1072



View Profile WWW
Re: AwesomeMod "Breaks" Sims 3 upon installation- competent edition!
« Reply #7 on: 2010 January 03, 04:12:04 »
THANKS THIS IS GREAT

So I'm screwed?

I really didn't want to risk updating to 1.8 and breaking everything in general. Sad Though I did just discover the idiot system is having trouble with some of my CC and causing slower rendering so I'll be troubleshooting all damn night anyway. Gotta single the packages down.
Logged
J. M. Pescado
Fat Obstreperous Jerk
El Presidente
*****
Posts: 26223



View Profile
Re: AwesomeMod "Breaks" Sims 3 upon installation- competent edition!
« Reply #8 on: 2010 January 03, 04:47:43 »
THANKS THIS IS GREAT

Nothing "in general" broke, or we would not have adopted the patch. There are issues, but there are workarounds that restore regular operation, so we move forward. If a patch "in general" broke everything, I would simply refuse to adopt it. As I have judged the issues tolerable, and the maintenance of trying to support two patches at once untenable, this is where we are.
Logged

Grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change, the courage to change the things I cannot accept, and the wisdom to hide the bodies of those I had to kill because they pissed me off.
Claeric
Shouty Vole
Pinheaded Pissant
***
Posts: 1072



View Profile WWW
Re: AwesomeMod "Breaks" Sims 3 upon installation- competent edition!
« Reply #9 on: 2010 January 03, 04:59:33 »
THANKS THIS IS GREAT

Oh, no, it wasn't a matter of thinking the patch was broken. I just didn't want to risk going beyond what I knew was a sure thing. It was just laziness and an unwillingness to reinstlal on my part. Besides that I have to change the SKU of the base game to update and replace backup files to update WA for various reasons, and it could've caused problems.

Lucky lucky me however, as I am now successfully running 1.8/2.3, along with awesomemod.
Logged
pbox
Garrulous Gimp
**
Posts: 315


View Profile
Re: AwesomeMod "Breaks" Sims 3 upon installation- competent edition!
« Reply #10 on: 2010 January 03, 14:29:05 »
THANKS THIS IS GREAT

So what happened is that you fucked up your game with broken/incompatible CC, yes? And you chose to point fingers before trying to fix it, out of "laziness and an unwillingness to reinstall"? Why is this thread called "competent edition" then?  Roll Eyes
Logged
Claeric
Shouty Vole
Pinheaded Pissant
***
Posts: 1072



View Profile WWW
Re: AwesomeMod "Breaks" Sims 3 upon installation- competent edition!
« Reply #11 on: 2010 January 04, 04:59:48 »
THANKS THIS IS GREAT

Because...I didnt fuck up the game with CC?

 It was a fresh install. It was working as-is. I had issue with 1.8 before, and since it was working as-is, wanted to know if I could get any help for the older awesomemod, made for 1.7. I didn't want to risk breaking it.

Logged
Pages: [1] Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.136 seconds with 20 queries.