More Awesome Than You!
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
2021 December 09, 06:23:40

Login with username, password and session length
Search:     Advanced search
540128 Posts in 18049 Topics by 8036 Members
Latest Member: Sonqmoon
* Home Help Search Login Register
+  More Awesome Than You!
|-+  TS2: Burnination
| |-+  The Podium
| | |-+  Can EA apartment lots be edited without breaking?
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic. « previous next »
Pages: [1] THANKS THIS IS GREAT Print
Author Topic: Can EA apartment lots be edited without breaking?  (Read 5016 times)
CatOfEvilGenius
Blathering Buffoon
*
Posts: 55



View Profile WWW
Can EA apartment lots be edited without breaking?
« on: 2009 August 27, 19:42:10 »
THANKS THIS IS GREAT

I tried to edit an EA apartment lot.  After saving, it was broken. 
Would crash shortly after anyone rented an apartment.
The *unmodified* EA lot works just fine (but is ugly).
The lot is "Main Street Mobile Homes".

All I did was change some EA floor coverings to different EA floor coverings.
Did not enable non-apartment build tools.  Saved, moved some sim in, crash.

Then I nuked that lot, started over with a fresh EA lot.
This time, changed lot zoning to residential first, then changed the floors.
Saved as residential.  Reentered the lot, changed zoning to apartment base, saved.
The lot still crashed in exactly the same way.

I have Pescado's apthack and alfixes.  Don't have anything else that affects tenants, landlords,
except dickhurt's better locations for eating / serving.  HCDU reports no conflicts.
Don't have anything else as far as I know that affects apartment doors (such as Inge's mods).


Logged

Please spay or neuter your pets --- my Sims2 clothing meshes
Pandaah
Blathering Buffoon
*
Posts: 74



View Profile
Re: Can EA apartment lots be edited without breaking?
« Reply #1 on: 2009 August 27, 20:45:42 »
THANKS THIS IS GREAT

I don't know if dickhurt's mod causes those crashes, but his mods are known to be clashy.
Logged
Simsample
Knuckleheaded Knob
**
Posts: 520



View Profile
Re: Can EA apartment lots be edited without breaking?
« Reply #2 on: 2009 August 27, 20:56:05 »
THANKS THIS IS GREAT

This could be because you rezoned to residential and then back to apartment, which is not a good idea. But I do recall someone on MTS2 having issues with altering this particular Maxis lot, so perhaps it is a buggy apartment.
Logged
CatOfEvilGenius
Blathering Buffoon
*
Posts: 55



View Profile WWW
Re: Can EA apartment lots be edited without breaking?
« Reply #3 on: 2009 August 27, 21:20:20 »
THANKS THIS IS GREAT

simsample - the MTS person was probably me, and this happens with and without rezoning

Pandaah - What I don't understand is why this only happens if I edit the lot.  The unedited lot works fine, with or without dickhurt's mods.
Logged

Please spay or neuter your pets --- my Sims2 clothing meshes
Simsample
Knuckleheaded Knob
**
Posts: 520



View Profile
Re: Can EA apartment lots be edited without breaking?
« Reply #4 on: 2009 August 27, 23:34:46 »
THANKS THIS IS GREAT

I can confirm that it is the lot. If I make a change to it (without rezoning) then it crashes each of the approx. 10 times I tried this. I'm sure I did this test before, as there is a thread I replied to:
http://www.modthesims.info/showthread.php?t=314299
Also a newer one here:
http://www.modthesims.info/showthread.php?p=2170120
The last thread suggests the solution of moving the lot; I didn't test whether that was successful at all (I only just found that thread; MTS is a tad slow tonight).
Logged
CatOfEvilGenius
Blathering Buffoon
*
Posts: 55



View Profile WWW
Re: Can EA apartment lots be edited without breaking?
« Reply #5 on: 2009 August 28, 00:17:49 »
THANKS THIS IS GREAT

simsample - Thanks for the links, you're right, other folks had this problem.  
I have put the altered lot into the bin, then placed it from the bin.  Is that what you meant by move?
It still crashed after I did.  I might be being stupid, if there's a way to just pick it up, plop it down, w/o binning.
If that doesn't work, I'll just try building a mobile home lot from scratch.
edit: Duh.  That would be the hand/arrows tool.

edit: And nothing to do with apartments, but what happened to my avatar?  Had one, now don't have one.  Odd.  Go to profile to change it, still can't see it.  Not important, just wierd.  I don't suppose you see my Gadget cat avatar?

edit2: Moving the lot with the hand/arrow tool didn't help.  Here's what I did.
Plop down a vanilla EA lot from the bin.  Make changes (no rezone).  Save.  Move the lot.
Move in a sim.  Crash.
Is it just EA borkitude?
« Last Edit: 2009 August 28, 01:41:51 by CatOfEvilGenius » Logged

Please spay or neuter your pets --- my Sims2 clothing meshes
chobeegal
Exasperating Eyesore
*
Posts: 206


And there shall be blood!


View Profile
Re: Can EA apartment lots be edited without breaking?
« Reply #6 on: 2009 August 28, 03:20:14 »
THANKS THIS IS GREAT

The lot is "Main Street Mobile Homes".
Lot is borked. Can not be edited. Will always crash game. Yes it's just EA borkitude

I don't suppose you see my Gadget cat avatar?
Yes, I see it.
« Last Edit: 2009 August 28, 03:26:20 by chobeegal » Logged

CatOfEvilGenius
Blathering Buffoon
*
Posts: 55



View Profile WWW
Re: Can EA apartment lots be edited without breaking?
« Reply #7 on: 2009 August 28, 04:31:15 »
THANKS THIS IS GREAT

chobeegal, thanks for confirming lot borkage.
Must have gotten overzealous with my AdBlock and blocked my own avie somehow. Cheesy
Logged

Please spay or neuter your pets --- my Sims2 clothing meshes
Simsample
Knuckleheaded Knob
**
Posts: 520



View Profile
Re: Can EA apartment lots be edited without breaking?
« Reply #8 on: 2009 August 28, 15:28:25 »
THANKS THIS IS GREAT

It seems to be unanimous then; borked lot. CatOfEvilGenius, moving the lot is suggested in the second thread I linked to, but MTS2 is down now so I cannot check details. I would think it unlikely to work though if the lot is faulty. I can see your avatar just fine!
Logged
Pages: [1] Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.058 seconds with 19 queries.