More Awesome Than You!
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
2019 May 19, 09:42:28

Login with username, password and session length
Search:     Advanced search
539926 Posts in 18015 Topics by 7813 Members
Latest Member: leiasbunz
* Home Help Search Login Register
+  More Awesome Than You!
|-+  TS2: Burnination
| |-+  Peasantry
| | |-+  Instruments by proxy GUID [Update 8-28-08 EP8!]
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic. « previous next »
Pages: [1] THANKS THIS IS GREAT Print
Author Topic: Instruments by proxy GUID [Update 8-28-08 EP8!]  (Read 43432 times)
Argon
Juvenile Jackass
**
Posts: 456


What Would Brian Kinney Do?


View Profile WWW
Instruments by proxy GUID [Update 8-28-08 EP8!]
« on: 2008 August 03, 07:20:04 »
THANKS THIS IS GREAT

Success! I finally found this again, but I don't remember how well it was working. I tested the bass playing rock and had the ls guitar join in and that seemed to work ok with sound and music enthusiasm. I think what happened was I was trying to figure out how to get the pie menu to show up on the guitar accessory and I couldn't get it to work so I gave up last time.

Anyway, this uses a different method for custom instruments so objects created with Atavera's custom instrument hack won't work. Basicly, the band controller has been modified to work by searching for the proxy guid (it's called fallback guid in the object definition according to SimPE).


Main reason for posting this is to see if the LS guitar in my LS conversion works (don't use it with ls guitarplay.package!).

Edit: Just tried jazz with Bass, BV Piano, LS Guitar, and Drums. Tested Synth for perform random tracks, and violin for practice. Everything seems ok so far, I don't know if any of the freetime patches changed any of those globals since I wrote this though.



Apartment Life version below, download here

Update 8-16-2008:
- Improved set to lead object a bit
- Seasons' career guitar accessory can now show the pie menu (EAxis bug)
- fixed the Life Stories guitar accessory
- made additions to make cloning instruments easier

Directions for cloning guitars are almost exactly the same as Atavera's guide, just modify those 2 bhavs with the new guid for the accessory. Bass, drums, pianos, midi synth, or any of the 3 guitar accessories require no changes if you're cloning directly from the original objects and have this package loaded with SimPE.

A few updated versions of some of Atavera's instruments are attached below.

Update 8-17-2008:
-Fixed the missing amp effects for the bass with high creativity sims. (Argon_bassanimfx.package)

Update 8-19-2008:
-Finished Violin, should be easier to clone now. Cloning the bow accessory is optional.
-Cleaned up guitar accessory code

Update 8-22-2008:
argon_pieguitaracc.package
-Added watch to guitar accessories (like the violin), and also the dance interactions. You will need to re-buy guitars to get this new feature.

Update 8-24-2008:
-added version of Pescado's tippingfix that plays nice with this hack.
-Began work on backwards compatibility

* Argon_bassanimfx.package (2.08 KB - downloaded 1369 times.)
* argon_instrument hack.7z (11.88 KB - downloaded 1236 times.)
* argon_pieguitaracc.7z (1.88 KB - downloaded 1234 times.)
* tippingfix.7z (1.85 KB - downloaded 1199 times.)
« Last Edit: 2008 August 29, 05:44:32 by Argon » Logged

Desktop: Intel Core 2 Duo 3.0 GHz, 3GB RAM, Nvidia Ge-Force GTS 450 1GB, Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium, WSXGA+ (1680x1050), Windows 7 Pro x64

Laptop: Sony VAIO VPCYB15KX, AMD Dual-Core E-350 1.60 GHz, 4GB RAM, AMD Radeon HD 6310, WXGA (1366x768), Windows 7 Pro x86
Kazzandra
Pinheaded Pissant
***
Posts: 1058


spukhafte Fernwirkung


View Profile
Re: Testers wanted: Instruments by proxy GUID [fixed missing download]
« Reply #1 on: 2008 August 10, 16:56:33 »
THANKS THIS IS GREAT

Anyway, this uses a different method for custom instruments so objects created with Atavera's custom instrument hack won't work.

What precisely do you mean by "won't work?" Do you mean that they will cause errors, or cease to be usable? Because I can't live without my acoustic guitar and contrabass.

If I wish to avoid such a catastrophe but use your Life Stories guitar, would I need to keep Atavera's hack in and use LSguitarplay.package as well?

I'll test this sometime later. I pulled Atavera's hack in favour of this one; I wonder what will happen to my contrabass.

ETA: Atavera's custom instruments drop out of queue. Kazzandra = SAD PANDA.

Going back to Atavera's hack now, and picking up ls guitar play.
« Last Edit: 2008 August 11, 05:15:32 by Kazzandra » Logged
Inge
Round Mound of Gray Fatness
Senator
*
Posts: 4320


Senator Emeritus. Oh hold on, I am still a senator


View Profile WWW
Re: Testers wanted: Instruments by proxy GUID [fixed missing download]
« Reply #2 on: 2008 August 16, 07:49:28 »
THANKS THIS IS GREAT

The Proxy GUID method usually works with *all* custom objects, unless the creator has stupidly and unnecessarily changed the proxy GUID of his object.  I bet Atavera's instruments can be made to work with this hack if someone sets their proxies back to what they were.
Logged


\"They\'re here, on the forum. A question riddled, spoiler giving, speculative cancer of sim evil\" -- redearth, Snooty Sims, 2009
J. M. Pescado
Fat Obstreperous Jerk
El Presidente
*****
Posts: 26198



View Profile
Re: Testers wanted: Instruments by proxy GUID [fixed missing download]
« Reply #3 on: 2008 August 16, 07:58:10 »
THANKS THIS IS GREAT

The proxy GUID is a tricky thing, because some people change them when they really shouldn't (object is basically a remesh of another object, with no functionality changes, especially when the object lacks a category), or DON'T change them when they SHOULD (object has been radically altered from original OBJD and no longer shares any functional similarity).
Logged

Grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change, the courage to change the things I cannot accept, and the wisdom to hide the bodies of those I had to kill because they pissed me off.
Argon
Juvenile Jackass
**
Posts: 456


What Would Brian Kinney Do?


View Profile WWW
Re: Testers wanted: Instruments by proxy GUID [fixed missing download]
« Reply #4 on: 2008 August 16, 10:01:43 »
THANKS THIS IS GREAT

Just wanted to say that I've been working on an update that should make cloning a little easier. It's just so you won't have to go guid reference hunting in all those bhavs.

Oh and does anyone know why the music effects crap out on the bass for high creativity sims after a while? The EAxis code does it too, both low and medium skill work fine.
« Last Edit: 2008 August 16, 10:06:55 by Argon » Logged

Desktop: Intel Core 2 Duo 3.0 GHz, 3GB RAM, Nvidia Ge-Force GTS 450 1GB, Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium, WSXGA+ (1680x1050), Windows 7 Pro x64

Laptop: Sony VAIO VPCYB15KX, AMD Dual-Core E-350 1.60 GHz, 4GB RAM, AMD Radeon HD 6310, WXGA (1366x768), Windows 7 Pro x86
J. M. Pescado
Fat Obstreperous Jerk
El Presidente
*****
Posts: 26198



View Profile
Re: Testers wanted: Instruments by proxy GUID [fixed missing download]
« Reply #5 on: 2008 August 16, 10:20:03 »
THANKS THIS IS GREAT

Beats me. Probably relates to all the other "music craps out" bugs, also. The violin does it also.
Logged

Grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change, the courage to change the things I cannot accept, and the wisdom to hide the bodies of those I had to kill because they pissed me off.
Inge
Round Mound of Gray Fatness
Senator
*
Posts: 4320


Senator Emeritus. Oh hold on, I am still a senator


View Profile WWW
Re: Testers wanted: Instruments by proxy GUID [fixed missing download]
« Reply #6 on: 2008 August 16, 10:20:12 »
THANKS THIS IS GREAT

Oh and does anyone know why the music effects crap out on the bass for high creativity sims after a while? The EAxis code does it too, both low and medium skill work fine.

Probably a seperate audio resource per skill level, and the one for high skill is poorly made.
Logged


\"They\'re here, on the forum. A question riddled, spoiler giving, speculative cancer of sim evil\" -- redearth, Snooty Sims, 2009
Argon
Juvenile Jackass
**
Posts: 456


What Would Brian Kinney Do?


View Profile WWW
Re: Testers wanted: Instruments by proxy GUID [Update 8-16-08 7:02pm]
« Reply #7 on: 2008 August 16, 20:17:53 »
THANKS THIS IS GREAT

No I mean the pulse from the speaker like on stereos, not the sound that's played.

ETA: New version released.

EDIT2: For a quick and dirty conversion of Atavera's hack instruments use the table below for original GUIDs and delete the set category whatever line in the lead init bhav or change it to a no-op. It would probably be a good idea to replace the reset bhav with one for that object though (see argon_instrument hack.package for reference). Guitars need to have 2 bhavs replaced on their accessory (the 2 tests). Here's the contrabass for proof of concept, it's not necessarily finished but it functions. Pianos have a set category since BV, so you'll probably have to change the init bhav, but I don't know off the top of my head what it's supposed to be.

Fallback object GUIDs:

InstrumentMain GUIDLead GUID
Bass0x2EA762E80x6EF2C707
Drums0x8EA66F900xAEA6708F
Guitar *0x4EA0E8580x6EF2CC17
Guitar (Seasons)*0x324D0D870x324D0D83
Guitar (Life Stories)*0xD23012850xF2301286
Piano*0x11DEFEE40x0A7D020B
Grand Piano (BV)*0xF2F1D4550x72F87689
Modular Synth (FT)0xF405297FN/A
Violin (FT)*0x7405298DN/A

* All guitars are treated the same way in globals, the same goes for pianos.
* Cloning the bow is optional.

Other useful guid references:
0x4E9D0C46 - tip jar
0x8e9ba383 - Band controller

EDIT3: Drums barf unless you replace watch and watch test bhavs. Proof of concept acoustic guitar and conga drums, as well as contrabass with reset bhav. Does anyone know if watch on those conga drums ever worked in the first place?

EDIT4: Violin has been completed, all guid checks have been modified to two bhavs (like guitars).

EDIT5: wow I'm stupid haha, the proxy guid is listed as fallback guid in the object definition. If you were looking at the raw data view and changing the values on proxy guid 1 & 2 you'll be fine. It's been too long since I started writing this monster Roll Eyes

* Atavera's test instruments.7z (338.29 KB - downloaded 675 times.)
« Last Edit: 2008 August 21, 23:37:45 by Argon » Logged

Desktop: Intel Core 2 Duo 3.0 GHz, 3GB RAM, Nvidia Ge-Force GTS 450 1GB, Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium, WSXGA+ (1680x1050), Windows 7 Pro x64

Laptop: Sony VAIO VPCYB15KX, AMD Dual-Core E-350 1.60 GHz, 4GB RAM, AMD Radeon HD 6310, WXGA (1366x768), Windows 7 Pro x86
Kazzandra
Pinheaded Pissant
***
Posts: 1058


spukhafte Fernwirkung


View Profile
Re: Testers wanted: Instruments by proxy GUID [Update 8-17-08 2:15am]
« Reply #8 on: 2008 August 19, 22:22:01 »
THANKS THIS IS GREAT

* Kazzandra cheers wildly!
Wow. You did everything I normally use, AND gave me the method to do anything I might want in the future. I would have been happy to do the method myself, but Argon is awesome and I suck.

Watch did NOT ever work on those conga drums, if I remember correctly.



Please excuse the cognitive dissonance of the image, but as you can see, I updated the rest of Atavera's guitars to work with Argon's Instruments by proxy GUID hack. Go here to see the complete list of what's included; the acoustic instruments that Argon fixed are not included.

Download here.


Hack conflict will spit out a few errors involving these instruments due to the reset BHAV being shared, but being that these are the same BHAVs, I don't believe there is a cause for alarm. I have no errors while using them.

Edited out terrible spell check error.

09/21-- FIXED Yamaha guitar to correctly play in a group setting.
« Last Edit: 2008 September 22, 03:26:13 by Kazzandra » Logged
Argon
Juvenile Jackass
**
Posts: 456


What Would Brian Kinney Do?


View Profile WWW
Re: Testers wanted: Instruments by proxy GUID [Update 8-19-08 11:50pm]
« Reply #9 on: 2008 August 20, 06:10:41 »
THANKS THIS IS GREAT

Updated, nothing too exciting unless you've been dying to clone the violin. Grin
Logged

Desktop: Intel Core 2 Duo 3.0 GHz, 3GB RAM, Nvidia Ge-Force GTS 450 1GB, Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium, WSXGA+ (1680x1050), Windows 7 Pro x64

Laptop: Sony VAIO VPCYB15KX, AMD Dual-Core E-350 1.60 GHz, 4GB RAM, AMD Radeon HD 6310, WXGA (1366x768), Windows 7 Pro x86
Argon
Juvenile Jackass
**
Posts: 456


What Would Brian Kinney Do?


View Profile WWW
Re: Instruments by proxy GUID [Update 8-19-08 11:50pm]
« Reply #10 on: 2008 August 21, 23:41:31 »
THANKS THIS IS GREAT

*Argon shamelessly double posts

Typo in the documentation, it's "Fallback GUID" not "Original GUID".

To make up for my double post, this will be edited later for instructions on how to properly clone new objects.

Load SimPE and go to Extra-Preferences, then click on the FileTable
1. Click add, Load File..., and choose argon_instrument hack.package from your downloads folder, click ok
2. Check the box next to the instrument hack package. (if you want to clone the ls guitar, repeat the process for ls-buy.package)
3. uncheck all boxes except, CEP, Original, University, Seasons, and Freetime
4. click reload at the top right corner (it will turn gray)
5. click ok and open up an object workshop window.


Check to make sure the fallback guids match the list for the main guid and the lead tile.
Guitars and the Violin have additional accessories that must be cloned, but it doesn't matter if you do or not and you can use any accessory (assuming it matches the  instrument type). Cloning the bow on the violin is optional.
"Check Accessory GUID" and "Create Accessory GUID" bhavs must be modified to match the accessory you want to use. On Violins, line 1 is the violing, line 2 is the bow.

EDIT: Attached BV compatible version (maybe).

* argon_instrument hack bvtest.7z (11.65 KB - downloaded 438 times.)
« Last Edit: 2008 August 24, 22:02:30 by Argon » Logged

Desktop: Intel Core 2 Duo 3.0 GHz, 3GB RAM, Nvidia Ge-Force GTS 450 1GB, Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium, WSXGA+ (1680x1050), Windows 7 Pro x64

Laptop: Sony VAIO VPCYB15KX, AMD Dual-Core E-350 1.60 GHz, 4GB RAM, AMD Radeon HD 6310, WXGA (1366x768), Windows 7 Pro x86
knightguy
Exasperating Eyesore
*
Posts: 216



View Profile WWW
Re: Instruments by proxy GUID [Update 8-24-08 3:58pm]
« Reply #11 on: 2008 August 27, 06:45:28 »
THANKS THIS IS GREAT

i ran the HackDiff  an it spit out this ?  i wasn't sure if it needed updated for apartments or not

Argon_Life Stories\argon_instrument hack.package: may require possible updates:
    B 0x7F0D0367 0x100E Sub - Stop
    B 0x7F0D0367 0x101A Function - Clean Up
    B 0x7F39D8AC 0x1015 Function - Init
    B 0x7F449F3B 0x2000 Interaction - Perform
    B 0x7F449F3B 0x2001 Music - Route To Instrument
    B 0x7F449F3B 0x2002 Music - Start Playing
    B 0x7F449F3B 0x2011 Interaction - Practice
    B 0x7F449F3B 0x201C Tip Jar - Place
    B 0x7F449F3B 0x201D Tip Jar - Pick Up
    B 0x7F449F3B 0x2035 Route - Watch
    B 0x7FAEECCE 0x1015 Function - Init
    B 0x7FC913D9 0x100A Interaction - Watch TEST
    B 0x7FC913D9 0x1014 Function - Main
Logged

To err is human, but to really foul things up requires a computer.

Better to remain silent and be thought a fool than to speak out and remove all doubt.
Argon
Juvenile Jackass
**
Posts: 456


What Would Brian Kinney Do?


View Profile WWW
Re: Instruments by proxy GUID [Update 8-24-08 3:58pm]
« Reply #12 on: 2008 August 27, 07:03:49 »
THANKS THIS IS GREAT

I've yet to acquire the latest lies and propaganda, so it might be a couple days. I wonder if they fixed the violin music bug.. nah that's hoping too much. I know part of it is going to be EP checks for in the zone stuff, but I can't imagine any radical changes to the instrument code.

EDIT: Tada! I need to get around to making a universal version... this will work for Apartment Life until then, delete the old one.

* argon_instrument hack-al.7z (11.22 KB - downloaded 3076 times.)
« Last Edit: 2008 August 29, 05:41:56 by Argon » Logged

Desktop: Intel Core 2 Duo 3.0 GHz, 3GB RAM, Nvidia Ge-Force GTS 450 1GB, Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium, WSXGA+ (1680x1050), Windows 7 Pro x64

Laptop: Sony VAIO VPCYB15KX, AMD Dual-Core E-350 1.60 GHz, 4GB RAM, AMD Radeon HD 6310, WXGA (1366x768), Windows 7 Pro x86
Kazzandra
Pinheaded Pissant
***
Posts: 1058


spukhafte Fernwirkung


View Profile
Re: Instruments by proxy GUID [Update 8-28-08 EP8!]
« Reply #13 on: 2008 September 15, 05:06:44 »
THANKS THIS IS GREAT

I haven't tested these yet, but here they are:
(Download removed because it was borked.)
Once I get the alpha edit project from hades done, I will test them if AmberDiceless has not.
One of these had DOUBLE the number of normal BHAVs (JWoodsKeyboard)-- basically a BHAV for everything, so if anything won't work, it will be that.
Pianos have a set category since BV, so you'll probably have to change the init bhav, but I don't know off the top of my head what it's supposed to be.

This were my first pianos, so if I understood this correctly, I changed the header Flag from 0x01 to 0x02 and changed the Tree version from 0xFFFF800E to 0xFFFF800F in the init BHAV, in addition to the usual steps (GUIDs, reset, and no op in init bhav). If this is incorrect, Argon, please tell me.
« Last Edit: 2008 September 15, 18:50:57 by Kazzandra » Logged
Argon
Juvenile Jackass
**
Posts: 456


What Would Brian Kinney Do?


View Profile WWW
Re: Instruments by proxy GUID [Update 8-28-08 EP8!]
« Reply #14 on: 2008 September 15, 07:03:55 »
THANKS THIS IS GREAT

This were my first pianos, so if I understood this correctly, I changed the header Flag from 0x01 to 0x02 and changed the Tree version from 0xFFFF800E to 0xFFFF800F in the init BHAV, in addition to the usual steps (GUIDs, reset, and no op in init behav). If this is incorrect, Argon, please tell me.

Huh? Why did you change the header flag and tree version? No, what needs to be added is a "My category := Const 0x106:0x60" (raw is 3B0060430005031A0000000000000000) line to the init bhav (which it looks like its already been added to some of those.

HOLY CRAP where did that JWoodsKeyBoard_22205a.package come from? It looks like they re-wrote most all the globals.
Logged

Desktop: Intel Core 2 Duo 3.0 GHz, 3GB RAM, Nvidia Ge-Force GTS 450 1GB, Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium, WSXGA+ (1680x1050), Windows 7 Pro x64

Laptop: Sony VAIO VPCYB15KX, AMD Dual-Core E-350 1.60 GHz, 4GB RAM, AMD Radeon HD 6310, WXGA (1366x768), Windows 7 Pro x86
Lord Darcy
Obtuse Oaf
***
Posts: 958


The owls are not what they seem.


View Profile WWW
Re: Instruments by proxy GUID [Update 8-28-08 EP8!]
« Reply #15 on: 2008 September 15, 15:05:34 »
THANKS THIS IS GREAT

HOLY CRAP where did that JWoodsKeyBoard_22205a.package come from? It looks like they re-wrote most all the globals.
There are 2 versions for JW Deluxe Keyboard, original version by JWoods and the one updated by Numenor to be compatible with Atavera's hack.
Logged

Kazzandra
Pinheaded Pissant
***
Posts: 1058


spukhafte Fernwirkung


View Profile
Updated Piano Cache
« Reply #16 on: 2008 September 15, 19:16:53 »
THANKS THIS IS GREAT

Huh? Why did you change the header flag and tree version? No, what needs to be added is a "My category := Const 0x106:0x60" (raw is 3B0060430005031A0000000000000000) line to the init bhav (which it looks like its already been added to some of those.

HOLY CRAP where did that JWoodsKeyBoard_22205a.package come from? It looks like they re-wrote most all the globals.

Thanks; I'll try again here. I only did that because the FT base game piano had these settings, so I mocked them. I couldn't find anything else to change, and being that most of these were fixed, then it is no wonder.  Cheesy

original version by JWoods and the one updated by Numenor to be compatible with Atavera's hack.
Thanks for that-- I went and grabbed the Numerion version-- which is NORMAL. I'll test today, but I'm pretty confident in these.


Nine custom pianos updated for use with Argon's hack, UNTESTED Healthy and well: http://www.mediafire.com/?egdukyy4wnn
UPDATE! 5 additional pianos. Redownload.
« Last Edit: 2008 September 23, 15:26:01 by Kazzandra » Logged
Ambular
Cheese Nazi
Stupid Schlemiel
****
Posts: 1936



View Profile WWW
Re: Instruments by proxy GUID [Update 8-28-08 EP8!]
« Reply #17 on: 2008 September 25, 18:41:32 »
THANKS THIS IS GREAT

Thanks for fixing those, Kazzandra.  Sorry it took me so long to remember, I'm a bit swamped with trying to finish a major meshing project and get ready to update to AL.  ><
Logged

Nihil curo de ista tua stulta superstitione.
My Sims 2 Stuff @  MTS | Populate My City
Indoor Girl
Asinine Airhead

Posts: 20



View Profile
Re: Instruments by proxy GUID [Update 8-28-08 EP8!]
« Reply #18 on: 2008 September 28, 22:00:09 »
THANKS THIS IS GREAT

I tested out the instruments with the AL version. Aside from two of the organs (Bino Maus, I believe) being blacked out in the catalog, everything worked great.

It's sooo nice to have custom instruments again, and thanks to you guys, I now have all my favorites back.
Logged
Baron
Marhis
Terrible Twerp
****
Posts: 2145


ISTP. Officially male since she plays MUDs


View Profile
Re: Instruments by proxy GUID [Update 8-28-08 EP8!]
« Reply #19 on: 2008 October 16, 03:53:08 »
THANKS THIS IS GREAT

I would add a modded version of modded tippingfix (tippingfix3), which nukes the endless animations when the sim picks up the tip jar.
Once you try without anims, you'll never go back!

* tippingfix-incl_argon-marhis.package (2.38 KB - downloaded 626 times.)
Logged

I say that a wise, when he does not know what he is talking about, should know enough to keep his mouth shut. -- C. Collodi, Pinocchio.
------
The one and only Rhayden's AIDE. Accept no substitutes.
Richief
Dimwitted Dunce
*
Posts: 192


Eye-Popping!


View Profile
Re: Instruments by proxy GUID [Update 8-28-08 EP8!]
« Reply #20 on: 2008 October 27, 00:51:03 »
THANKS THIS IS GREAT

Argon, your hack is producing error logs; whenever my Sims use the BV grand piano or the CS grand piano (which I cloned from BV) they get an error log. Apparently the reason for the error log is a problem in "Node 0" ("Instrument - Is Param 1 by Proxy?") of "Sub - The Zone - Formalwear", which is called by "Piano - Start". Don't know what to do Undecided, please help! I attached the error log, thanks in advance.

PS: I have the latest version (AL) of your hack.

[attachment deleted by admin]
Logged
miros
Retarded Reprobate
****
Posts: 1280


View Profile
Re: Instruments by proxy GUID [Update 8-28-08 EP8!]
« Reply #21 on: 2012 April 21, 18:34:43 »
THANKS THIS IS GREAT

Sorry about the necromancy, but Kazzandra sent me the new link for the guitars she fixed: 
http://www.mediafire.com/file/l0iltaa4onymi4w/Atavera%27s%20Guitars.rar
Logged
Pages: [1] Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!
Page created in 0.133 seconds with 19 queries.